CPS High Schools Earn AdvancED Accreditation Distinction

March 8, 2019

Cincinnati Public Schools' 14 traditional high schools have qualified for the prestigious, nationally recognized AdvancED accreditation, the standard of excellence for public high schools.

Additionally, CPS' two Montessori high schools — Clark Montessori and Gamble Montessori — also earned accreditation from the American Montessori Society.

The CPS Board of Education recognized the 14 high schools at its March 6, 2019, Board meeting.

AdvancED is the world’s largest educational accrediting organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. Accreditation is a quality-assurance process that evaluates a school to determine if standards are met and improvements are in place for continuous growth. AdvancED accreditation is up for renewal every five years.

AdvancED reviewers collected and analyzed each high school's student performance data, including school climate surveys, attendance and community engagement. The schools' programs were examined for areas of improvement, and reviewers collaborated with staff, students and families to set goals. The schools' directions, achievements and challenges were documented, and an improvement plan was created for each high school.

Accreditation from the American Montessori Society for Clark and Gamble involved a process of intense self-reflection and documentation by staff and school communities to assemble evidence of best practices of Montessori methods for high schools.

CPS high schools earning AdvancED accreditation:

  • Aiken High School
  • Clark Montessori High School
  • Gilbert A. Dater High School
  • James N. Gamble Montessori High School
  • Hughes STEM High School
  • Oyler School
  • Riverview East Academy
  • Robert A. Taft Information Technology High School
  • School for Creative and Performing Arts (SCPA)
  • Shroder High School
  • Walnut Hills High School
  • Western Hills University High School
  • Withrow University High School
  • Woodward Career Technical High School

Three CPS high schools are not accredited at this time: Virtual High School and Cincinnati Digital Academy (online schools require separate accreditation); and the Spencer Center for Gifted and Exceptional Students, a new school that is adding high school grades and will start the accreditation process when eligible.